Spencer Mountain 10 Miler

Today is exactly one year to the date of my last race, which was the Fort Lauderdale Half marathon. I can’t believe it’s been so long, but life got crazy and then I had the injury(achilles tendonitis) and then all the time getting back into running after the injury healed. Let’s just say, “I’m back Baby!”

I signed up for the race about 2 weeks ago. I had been building up my mileage and I was up to 7 miles but I decided I’d try an 8 mile run and if I managed that I figured I’d be okay to sign up for a 10 mile run. I was a little nervous since it was ON A MOUNTAIN..hello! I live in Florida, the only incline I’ve ever run on is the bridge between Fort Myers and North Fort Myers(and the treadmill on an incline). But I figured…dream big!

The course was described as: “four miles of flat roads, 3 miles of easy hills and 3 miles of steep climb up the mountain” I figured if I could get the first 7 miles and even if I had to walk the last 3 I’d do okay.

The course actually was: “4.5 miles of what I would consider small hills with interspersed flat areas, 2.5 miles of much steeper, longer hills and then a 1-1.5 mile steady elevation rise up the mountain then a very, very gradual descent for 1 mile”

I finished though! Woo woo! I really had no idea what kind of time to aim for, so I figured if I could average 12 minute miles then a 2 hour time would be good..Well, I finished in 1 hour and 48 minutes..that’s 10:48 miles…and for the first 5 miles I was averaging 10 minute miles and sub-10 minute mile for the last mile!

And I felt good nearly the ENTIRE race! No calf pain, no foot pain, no exhaustion, no wanting to quit….nada…there was only one brief period around mile 4.5 where I was thinking, man, if all I’ve just done was considered the “flat” part of this race and now I’m getting into the hills and then the climb, I’m never gonna make it. Right after I had that thought, “Defying gravity” came on my ipod. It really motivated me!

In the song you have Glinda talking to Elphaba, trying to get her to not strike off on her own, but Elphaba says she has to do it. Anyways, it seemed like the exact conversation my head was having with me, and my will to keep going dominated and off I went!

Elphaba: Something has changed within me. Something is not the same. I’m through with playing by the rules of someone else’s game. Too late for second guessing. Too late to go back to sleep. It’s time to trust my instincts, close my eyes and leap. It’s time to try defying gravity. I think I”ll try defying gravity and you can’t keep me down.

Glinda: Can’t I make you understand? You’re having delusions of granduer!

I’m not gonna lie…I did walk some of it, but obviously when I was running, I was at a good pace since my overall time was good. I’m kinda excited to see how I’d do on a flat race! My dad thinks maybe all my running in 90+ weather helped or something.

Other than that one brief period of weakness the race seemed to well, race by. Pretty much every time I passed a mile marker I kept thinking how it didn’t seem like enough time since the last one!

I had a pumpkin green monster and a pb and walnut sandwich while I drove to the race. During the race I didn’t really fuel up except for one bite of a dried fruit and nut bar I brought…didn’t need to….I had another pumpkin green monster on my way home.

I brought my little point and shoot with me and snapped a few pics before and during the race…the blurry shots are ones I took while running. I totally should’ve whipped out the camera and taken a picture of the finish line…but I didn’t! I got all caught up in excitement that I was finishing in a better time than I had hoped for and I blew past the finish clock without getting the camera!

North Carolina 016
North Carolina 003
North Carolina 005
North Carolina 006
North Carolina 008
North Carolina 010
North Carolina 011
North Carolina 013
North Carolina 014
North Carolina 015
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

