Black Bean Potato Burgers on Oatmeal Pitas

A couple of months ago my parents took me out to Toucan’s for my birthday. It’s a really cool local Caribbean style restaurant in Savannah.  It’s like a very nice Bahama Breeze.  They even have a separate vegetarian menu.  This is what I got:

Black bean burger on a pita with cabbage, cilantro and honey mustard.  It was delish!

I’ve been thinking about that meal and wanting to re-create it on my own…from scratch….using only ingredients I already had!

Here’s my version:

The pita’s are home-made as are the burgers…I topped it with some of my frozen, thawed avocado and honey mustard(there’s also spinach in there…I would change it to spring salad and maybe add some chopped cilantro and tomatoes if I had them!)….MMMMM!!! I HIGHLY recommend this meal!

Now I bet you want to be able to create this delicious meal yourself :

Black-bean baked potato Burgers:

-1.5 cups cooked black beans(I used dry)

-1 baked potato chopped

-1 onion chopped

-1 tomato chopped

-1/2 c. sunflower seeds

-2 T ground flax seeds

-1/4 c. nutritional yeast

-4 Basil leaves

-2 cloves garlic chopped

-2 t salt

-3/4 t. pepper

-2 T olive oil

-1/2 c. water

-1 c. flour

Put all ingredients in food processor except water and flour. Gradually add water as you process everything till smooth.  Mix in flour, adding extra if necessary till you have a “hamburger” like consistency.  Shape into patties and cook at 400F for 20-30 minutes until firm and slightly crispy on the outside.

You could probably add in some red pepper for a little kick too! I think I made about 15 burgers and I bet they’d be amazing grilled.

Oatmeal Pitas:

-2. 5 c. flour divided

-1 c. oats

-1 T. brown sugar

-2 t. yeast

-2 T olive oil

-1 c. warm water

Mix together 1 c. flour, salt, sugar and yeast:

Make a well in the center and add the water and oil:

Mix until smooth, then slowly add in the rest of the flour and the oats, mixing well.  Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead for 3-4 minutes.

Split dough into 8 sections.  This can be done by half-ing the main dough, then repeating that twice till you have 8 equal small balls:

Cover with a damp cloth and let sit for 30 minutes. Meanwhile prep 8 pieces of aluminum foil that you’re going to be baking these babies on and also pre-heat the oven to 500F.

Roll out each ball into about a 6 inch diameter circle and place each one on a piece of foil.  Place foil with dough on top, directly on the oven rack(mind was in the middle of the oven) and cook for 5 minutes.  They’ll puff up while cooking:

YUM!!  Sooooo easy.

1 Comment

Filed under healthy eating, recipes

One response to “Black Bean Potato Burgers on Oatmeal Pitas

  1. kdbaker05

    You are making me hungry again. You have such a talent for that. 😀

Leave a Reply

