They’re BACK!

Why hello running shoes!  Have you missed me since we last saw each other two months ago?  You’ve been sitting in the back of my closet for the past 2 months spending time with all my other neglected shoes.  Have you made any new friends?

Insanity is done…running is back in my life.  It was a nice break, but I missed running and running missed me.  Sunday morning I got up and decided it was a run day.  Just a quick trial to see what level I was at after two months of no running+doing Insanity….

I was hoping to be a speed demon…or at least at the same level I was at 2 months ago….

Alas, that was not to be.  Diesel(my gps watch) was dead so I had to take off on my own.  The loop around my parents neighborhood is just a touch over 0.75 miles so I knew if I ran around it 4 times I’d get at least 3 miles in.  After two laps I was DYING….and I made a quick pit stop to look at the clock I had placed on the back of my car….1.5 miles….something around 18 minutes…I was clocking 12 minute miles…and it felt like I was sprinting.  Disheartened I took off for two more laps, but I only made it 1 before I had to quit.

Tuesday night, I was determined to try again.  This time with Diesel….I did moderately better, but had to take 2 walking breaks and still felt like crap afterwards but I did 3 miles in about a 10:30 pace, which is horrible compared to what I was running(and compared to how it felt!) but better than 12 minute pace.

I’m giving it another go tonight.  I’m thinking/hoping/praying that the major amount of slowness(and yet feeling like I’m sprinting) is due to the extreme heat/humidity that’s been plaguing GA for the past…oh …month or so!

I also did a tabata workout on the treadie on  Wednesday.  Never done that before…basically you warm up for 5 minutes then do intervals of 20 seconds balls to the wall then 10 seconds of recovery x 6 then 5 minute cool down.  It was sooo tough but over so quickly that it wasn’t *that* bad.  “They” say it’s THE way to workout because you burn a ton of calories for such a short workout and you really improve your endurance and speed.  “We’ll” see!  🙂

Hubby is finally in Savannah with me after a terrible, dramatic, long experience getting the rest of our stuff moved up….Look for a post coming soon detailing that experience….here’s a preview….stay away from renting from U-Haul.

But very stoked he is here!  We have some fun “coupel-y” things planned for this weekend(we almost NEVER have a weekend together that we’re not traveling to visit family as he only rarely gets weekends off and when he does, it’s for the express purpose of visiting family….)

Time to take my pill….*

*anyone know the movie that line is from?  anyone? bueller?  bueller?

-Tamara

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness, Half-Marathon Planning, Running

2 responses to “They’re BACK!

  1. This is a wonderful post and may be one that you should followed up to see what happens

    A pal sent this link the other day and I am eagerly looking your next piece of writing. Carry on on the fantastic work.

  2. Discovered your site via msn the other day and absolutely adore it. Keep up the truly amazing work.

Leave a Reply

