Confessions of a Wanna-Be Food Blogger

It was just about a year ago that I really discovered food blogs.  This led to a life-changing conversion(from heavy meat eater to a dairy-free vegetarian) and helped me  change my body image, my eating habits(no more calorie counting for me!) and gave me lots of recipe and meal ideas.

The kinds of food blogs I like are those that are not strictly just about food.  They have life "things", recipes, fitness related "stuff" and lots of cool pictures. 

I thought, if they can do it, I can do it….I mean, after all,

I had a computer, I had a fancy DSLR camera, I like to cook and be creative in the kitchen, I enjoy writing and a *few* professors have even told me I’m pretty good at it. 

I figured I’d be a natural. Just put out posts and people will instinctly flock to my blog. 

So I started with The Mockingbird Chronicles as my blog name.  I blogged; and you couldn’t so much hear people flocking to the blog as you could hear crickets chirping so was the lack of traffic to said blog.  I think my parents occassionally read it…maybe…once in awhile….

I got discouraged; I started posting less and less; then not at all for awhile; then I thought, IT MUST BE THE NAME…it’s too hard to remember and it’s not catchy…so I tried again with Eyes on the Run….again crickets…..

Then with the buying/moving into the house, the lack of internet and a busy life, my posting has been anything but sporatic……

Earlier today, I was thinking, what’s the point? If I stopped writing in my blog would anyone care?  Probably not, I don’t have a huge interest in this blog, maybe 1 reader if I’m lucky….

Then I reminded myself WHY I blog…I like it….I am inspired by those whose blogs are much better than mine(and coincidentally actually HAVE devoted readers)…and it really doesn’t matter if I actually have a popular blog or not…I’m not in it to try and earn $$(as some of the popular blogs are able to do), I’m not going to win some blogger of the year(or even the day) award,  won’t change the world, but it does provide me a creative outlet in which to write, publish my (very)amauture photography, show off recipes and generally have fun! 

And maybe there is that one person out there that stumbles across my blog and finds meaning in something I posted or can relate to the struggles I have with fitness, body image and becoming a better runner and they in turn can be inspired by me!

All that being said, I am just not that great of a blogger…I start cooking without thinking about taking pictures or determing amounts of each ingredient I’m using so more often than not I realize AFTER I’ve made a really good meal that hey this would be good to share with the blog world(case in point, last night I made these AH-Mazing vegan enchiladas that rival the Amy’s kind from the organic freezer section but I didn’t think about the blog until…I was chowing down on them with no idea *how much* of each ingredient I used…gah!)

I’m also not great at *taking* food pictures.  I don’t have a macro lens for my DSLR and my lens that can take closer up pictures(just not macro) is broken and just the other week my point and shoot died, so now I’m relegated to my iphone or using the long range lens on zoom and then cropping with photoshop. 

But ya know what?  My blog has lots of failings and it’s not that asthetically pleasing but it’s mine and it’s beautiful in it’s own right…

So blog on my friends, blog on…

-Tamara

"I will be here when the laughter turns to crying, through the winning, losing and trying, we’ll be together, and I will be here"…Steven Curtis Chapman

Powered by Qumana

1 Comment

Filed under healthy eating, Running

One response to “Confessions of a Wanna-Be Food Blogger

  1. i read your blog and i like it!! maybe thats because i already liked your posts on the m&f hers boards 😉 keep on blogging, i too started a blog, recently, and although i have some readers, it could be better! but its getting more and more…i read somewhere that it needs about a year until a blog is settled in the blogger-world…and since you’ve changed names (i love the new name!! much better than the old one, although this one was also pretty good and with a lot of though behind…but the new one is easier to remember, you are right!)

Leave a Reply

